Fork me on GitHub

HOWTO Block referral spamming to Postnuke sites - heads up!  Bottom

  • Hi all,

    I have been noticing with a high frequency a number of referrals from such sites as: xopy, adminshop, devaddict etc., and me being the curious Webmaster, clicked on a couple to see what the hell they were referring to my site from over there. To my surprise there was no content or links to my site. I started digging around and there has been numerous known cases of a couple sites doing referral spamming with a product from adminshop know as Reffy!

    I have now blocked via .htaccess the following sites that are known referral spammers:

    Code

    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} ^http://(www\.)?adminshop.com/.*$ [NC,OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} ^http://(www\.)?webdevboard.com/.*$ [NC,OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} ^http://(www\.)?devaddict.com/.*$ [NC,OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} ^http://(www\.)?whiteguysgroup.com/.*$ [NC,OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} ^http://(www\.)?guestbookz.com/.*$ [NC,OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} ^http://(www\.)?xopy.com/.*$ [NC]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/.*$
    RewriteRule ^.* - [F]


    Please see this link for more info on these referral spammers....it is a nasty practice!

    http://visualintensity.com/adminshop-com/

    Take care and this is just a heads up for all Postnuke users!

    supa

    --
    ttgapers.com - the latest from the caribbean
    Caribbean News
    Online Shopping from USA, Canada, UK, France, Germany
    On Facebook
  • Damn, I have one from them. I am starting to think that the internet is going straight to hell as fast as clever greed can take it there. Between spam, spyware/adware and google-bombing like this, it's just that much less credibility the 'net has.

    Didn't anybody put quality requirements on the 'net? :) Is it too late to go back and do that?

    Thanks for posting this, daddysupa. How can I tell if the .htaccess file is working?

    Frank
  • i am going to fathom a guess that every postnuke site will have at least one occurence of these bloody spammers. and to clarify, this is NOT INDICATIVE of any Postnuke specific problem. ALL websites on the Internet are subject to these spammers.

    Frank, I asked about this a while back when i had referrals in the form http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx and others from the above site and thought, something must be wrong. MTRAD, recommended updating to his implementation of statistics which i did, but it did not clarify these referrers. only when i went to their bloodt site i noticed the little bastard called "reffy", which is a mass referral spammer! if u use reffy u can cloak/mask the referrers address or show it also. most tend to show it as it generates incoming links to their site and fraudelently increase their page ranking.

    i thought i would share this info with everyone here!

    u can check you .htaccess rules functionality by having a look at your RAW weblogs i.e. from ISP.

    regards

    supa

    --
    ttgapers.com - the latest from the caribbean
    Caribbean News
    Online Shopping from USA, Canada, UK, France, Germany
    On Facebook
  • That's intersting... I have some http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx and some +++++++++++++++++ as well. Why would they go to the trouble of crawling blogs and other site with referrers if they aren't going to leave a spammy trail? It seems like a waste of time, bandwith, and effort.

    Frank
  • Frank, that may be one of their other tools...check out adminshop and see their tools.

    supa

    --
    ttgapers.com - the latest from the caribbean
    Caribbean News
    Online Shopping from USA, Canada, UK, France, Germany
    On Facebook

This list is based on users active over the last 60 minutes.